House GOP Ignores Bachmann’s Urgency Plea

Americans agree that our country is in peril today and we must act with urgency to save it” — Presidential candidate Michele Bachmann – Waterloo IA June 27, 2011

Gosh, such a strong statement … too bad, Ms. Bachmann did not make that same comment on the House floor … oh, sure, she could have … except there was no one there to hear it.

That’s right; the Republican-controlled House of Representatives is on another “vacation”.
Thus far this year, the House has only “worked” 69 days this year and they are next scheduled to return to “work” on Wednesday, July 6th.

And it’s not that they plan to accelerate their work in the second half of the year, as the schedule currently indicates that the House will be on recess :
Beginning Friday, July 15 returning Monday, July 25
Friday, August 5 – Tuesday, September 6
Friday, September 23 – Monday, October 3
Friday, October 14 – Monday, October 24
Friday, November 4 – Monday, November 14
Friday, November 18 – Tuesday, November 29
At this time, the December 8 is the target date to end the session.
Thus it is reasonable to assume that the second half of the year will have fewer work days than the first half … essentially, they may end up with approximately 27 workweeks.

Urgency ?

Remember that the Republicans campaigned themes as featured in Pledge to America … Creating jobs, Cutting spending, Reforming Congress, Repealing and Replacing The Job-Killing Health Care Law … based on the Pillars of a New Majority ?
Thus far, ZERO accomplishments … the debt ceiling issue needs to be resolved but the House is on break.

The Republicans could do something about these problems … if they wanted to … alas, Ms. Bachmann should re-read her press release of of August 15,2008 : Bachmann Participates in GOP Floor Protest Press Conference — Congress Shouldn’t Vacation While Taxpayers Struggle to Afford Vacations of their own.

America does not need a President Bachmann … it needs a Congresswoman Bachmann and her colleagues to GET TO WORK !

An aside to Minnesota voters, now is the time to call your Representative and ask about their summer schedule of town hall meetings … they got plenty of time open.

Tags: ,